Basic Earth Structure

The earth is composed of four layers: the inner core, the outer core, the mantle and the crust.

Each layer can be characterized by its distinctive composition and physical properties.

Most of the heaviest elements are found closer to the center of the earth while the lighter elements are concentrated near the Earth's surface.



Outer Core

Inner Core

Earth Structure Data

Earth Layer Thickness (km) Distance from center of Earth (km)
Inner core 1210 1210
Outer core 2260 3470
Mantle 2885 6325
Crust 35 (varies) 6360

Earth Structure Inferred From Seismic Waves